SafelyRemove.com Forum
http://safelyremove.com/forum/

[WISH] Compability with Truecrypt - a new parameter in start/stop scripts
http://safelyremove.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=141
Page 2 of 2

Author:  pzYsTorM [ Tue Jun 09, 2009 9:37 am ]
Post subject: 

Oh, thats weird!

Yes, UAC is enabled.
Perhaps, the ATI tool for the dual screen manages some window positions... but I dont know.
I will check this on my laptop. Thats a single screen with a brand new Vista installation.

Author:  Igor [ Tue Jun 16, 2009 11:59 am ]
Post subject: 

pzYsTorM wrote:
Oh, thats weird!

Yes, UAC is enabled.
Perhaps, the ATI tool for the dual screen manages some window positions... but I dont know.
I will check this on my laptop. Thats a single screen with a brand new Vista installation.

It seems that your problem (non-active TrueCrypt window) relates to UAC, try disabling it for some time and see if TrueCrypt window will be activated or not. If you find that this is a problem of UAC we cannot do anything in this case.

Author:  pzYsTorM [ Mon Jul 06, 2009 8:30 am ]
Post subject: 

First I thought this is caused by ATI software and dual screens (which I have at home).
But on my notebook I have nVidia and a single screen.

On both systems is Vista (SP2 in the meantime) and each time connecting my usb stick the TC password prompt is behind Firefox, etc.

Ok, I will check if its a UAC problem.

Author:  Igor [ Tue Nov 24, 2009 2:58 pm ]
Post subject:  Re:

pzYsTorM wrote:
The TrueCrypt window asking for the password for mounting the volume is always in the background... behind all other windows.

Would it be possible to switch it to the foreground and put the focus on it?
At the moment I have to minimize all windows, because there is no other chance to get to this TrueCrypt window, because it has no task bar entry.

Just for information of anyone who encountered the same problem.

I've just accidentally found out the reason of this behavior. It's a bug of the older versions of TrueCrypt. I've got the same behavior with the version 6.0, but TrueCrypt 6.3a works flawlessly and displays the password window always on top. So the decision is to upgrade your TrueCrypt installation.

Author:  oblivion [ Mon Nov 30, 2009 2:13 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: [WISH] Compability with Truecrypt - a new parameter in start

I also use Truecrypt to mount an encrypted partition: however, the encrypted partition is also (separately to the partition that the Truecrypt executable's stored on) on the flashdrive that I'm plugging in. The actual command I need to use is

"G:\TrueCrypt.exe" /v "\Device\Harddisk1\Partition2" /l I /q background

What I'm having difficulty working out is how much of that I can replace with USBSR variables. Just the drive letter? Or can I parameterise the hard disk number somehow, so I can ensure it still works when it's not the first drive plugged in?

Thanks!

Author:  Igor [ Mon Nov 30, 2009 8:51 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: [WISH] Compability with Truecrypt - a new parameter in start

oblivion wrote:
I also use Truecrypt to mount an encrypted partition: however, the encrypted partition is also (separately to the partition that the Truecrypt executable's stored on) on the flashdrive that I'm plugging in. The actual command I need to use is

"G:\TrueCrypt.exe" /v "\Device\Harddisk1\Partition2" /l I /q background

What I'm having difficulty working out is how much of that I can replace with USBSR variables. Just the drive letter? Or can I parameterise the hard disk number somehow, so I can ensure it still works when it's not the first drive plugged in?

Thanks!

There is variable %PhysicalDriveName% which replaces something that you call "hard disk number". The drive letter in your command cannot be replaced as it is not the same as the letter of the flash drive. You have to specify it manually what drive letter you wish to mount your TrueCrypt volume to.

Your comand line that you add to autorun should be looking like that:
"G:\TrueCrypt.exe" /v "%PhysicalDriveName%" /l I /q background

However I'd recommend you using integrated into USBSafelyRemove TrueCrypt command line template wizard. It's much more easier to add command line templates for mounting\dismounting TrueCrypt volumes with it.

Image

Image

Author:  pzYsTorM [ Fri Feb 26, 2010 2:24 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Re:

Igor wrote:
Just for information of anyone who encountered the same problem.

I've just accidentally found out the reason of this behavior. It's a bug of the older versions of TrueCrypt. I've got the same behavior with the version 6.0, but TrueCrypt 6.3a works flawlessly and displays the password window always on top. So the decision is to upgrade your TrueCrypt installation.


Sorry, but that did not solve the problem.
Using the latest SafelyRemove and the lastest TrueCrypt version, the password dialog is still behind all active windows. I only have Vista (with all available updates using Windows Update) at the moment, but on three computers I have this behaviour. And this is definitely no dual screen issue - I have made several tests.

My next tests are: Win XP? Windows 7? Disable the UAC?

Page 2 of 2 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/