Disable autorun

Do you have any suggestion or idea? Found a bug? Describe it here!

Moderators: Nikolay, Anton, Igor

Post Reply
User avatar
oblivion
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 2:04 pm

Disable autorun

Post by oblivion » Tue Jun 07, 2011 8:49 am

The autorun feature of USBSR is brilliant.

However, there are times I'd rather not use it. (For instance, after a crash with my USB HD attached, next time I plug it in I want to run a disk check before I run anything else.)

It used to be possible to disable Windows autorun of CDs by holding down the shift key while the CD was spinning up.

I'd like to be able to do something similar with USBSR -- maybe not a shift key (or anything else that might activate stickeykeys :) ) but some sort of means of preventing the autorun script for this connection only would be useful, I think.
User avatar
Igor
Developer
Posts: 561
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 12:44 pm
Location: Saint Petersburg
Contact:

Re: Disable autorun

Post by Igor » Fri Jun 17, 2011 8:38 am

Oblivion, thanks for the suggestion! That's a good idea and we will implement it in on of the following versions.

The only question we need to resolve before we implement it: is the way of disabling the autorun. Pressing a key isn't intuitive and the majority of people will never know about it. So we need to think of another way and any suggestions on this matter are appreciated.
User avatar
oblivion
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 2:04 pm

Re: Disable autorun

Post by oblivion » Fri Jun 17, 2011 1:03 pm

Igor wrote:Oblivion, thanks for the suggestion! That's a good idea and we will implement it in on of the following versions.

The only question we need to resolve before we implement it: is the way of disabling the autorun. Pressing a key isn't intuitive and the majority of people will never know about it. So we need to think of another way and any suggestions on this matter are appreciated.
You'll never be in a position of having to disable an autorun before a set of autoruns has been defined, because it's device specific and it must already have been connected at least once to define them at all. So put a note on the autorun definition screen somewhere clearly visible. For instance, you have the description "Here you can setup launching programs on device connection or disconnection" and you could perhaps put another line of text under that to explain how to bypass defined autoruns at device connection.

Alternatively, you could put a dialog onscreen at connection for a user-defined period (default 2s, maybe) that would abort the autoruns if a button was pressed before the timer ran out...
ricaluanna
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2011 12:51 am

Re: Disable autorun

Post by ricaluanna » Mon Jun 20, 2011 1:48 am

I have no problem whatsoever with the autorun feature.

______________________
All about gold:buy gold,investing in gold,gold coins for sale.
Last edited by ricaluanna on Sun Jun 26, 2011 11:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Igor
Developer
Posts: 561
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 12:44 pm
Location: Saint Petersburg
Contact:

Re: Disable autorun

Post by Igor » Tue Jun 21, 2011 12:53 pm

oblivion wrote:You'll never be in a position of having to disable an autorun before a set of autoruns has been defined, because it's device specific and it must already have been connected at least once to define them at all. So put a note on the autorun definition screen somewhere clearly visible. For instance, you have the description "Here you can setup launching programs on device connection or disconnection" and you could perhaps put another line of text under that to explain how to bypass defined autoruns at device connection.

Alternatively, you could put a dialog onscreen at connection for a user-defined period (default 2s, maybe) that would abort the autoruns if a button was pressed before the timer ran out...
Oblivion, thanks a lot for the ideas!
Post Reply