SafelyRemove.com Forum
http://safelyremove.com/forum/

Vista 32 Bit Privileges
http://safelyremove.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=117
Page 1 of 1

Author:  BTrain [ Thu Jul 31, 2008 4:41 pm ]
Post subject:  Vista 32 Bit Privileges

After Installing USB Safely Remove 4 beta 6 I get this message when there is a file locked, "It is not enough system privileges to scan processes which are locking the device. This feature is only available in an administrative mode." I was using version 3.3 until yesterday and had never seen this message. I use Vista 32 Bit with a non administrator account.

Author:  Igor [ Sat Aug 02, 2008 11:16 am ]
Post subject: 

In the latest version we have implemented a new processes' detection mechanism which is safer (the previous one might lead to BSOD'es on some computer configurations) and faster. However it has one lack - it cannot work under non administrative account.

In future we will consider implementing an improvement which allows to install the program once in an administrative mode and then use it in non administrative mode.

Author:  ellison [ Sun Sep 14, 2008 11:37 am ]
Post subject: 

Hello...
I get that same message for items such as a usb stick that i try to restart.I assumed that i did have an administrator account ,and i also installed this app as an administartor.
What am i doing wrong?I use vista 32 bit premium sp1
thanks in advance
ellison

Author:  Igor [ Wed Sep 17, 2008 4:19 am ]
Post subject: 

ellison wrote:
Hello...
I get that same message for items such as a usb stick that i try to restart.I assumed that i did have an administrator account ,and i also installed this app as an administartor.
What am i doing wrong?I use vista 32 bit premium sp1
thanks in advance
ellison

Do you have UAC (User Account Control) enabled?

Author:  andrzej [ Tue Sep 23, 2008 1:49 pm ]
Post subject: 

I have the same problem as ellison.

I have an administrator account, I've disabled UAC and I still cannot see why I can't unmount an usb device (wd my passport essential). All I get is this message: "It is not enough system privileges to scan processes which are locking the device. This feature is only available in an administrative mode."

[Edit]
Fixed it - I turned UAC properly in Control Panet insted of unchecking it through secpol.msc

I would like it to work with UAC enabled though. Thanks in advance. ;)

Author:  Igor [ Thu Sep 25, 2008 9:08 am ]
Post subject: 

andrzej wrote:
I have the same problem as ellison.

I have an administrator account, I've disabled UAC and I still cannot see why I can't unmount an usb device (wd my passport essential). All I get is this message: "It is not enough system privileges to scan processes which are locking the device. This feature is only available in an administrative mode."


[Edit]
Fixed it - I turned UAC properly in Control Panet insted of unchecking it through secpol.msc

AFAIK, you have to restart the computer in order to get UAC work.

andrzej wrote:
I would like it to work with UAC enabled though. Thanks in advance. ;)

Now we are working on UAC compatibility, hope this will be released in the next version.

Author:  brjohnsmith [ Thu Nov 13, 2008 10:19 am ]
Post subject: 

Hi,

I have the same problem. I have two freecom external HDD and it works fine on Windows XP (both), but when I use Vista, freecom with 500GB is still workfing fine, but freecom 120GB doesn work, and I get the same message. I am using administrator accound and I dont want to disable UAC resource. It is the same when the HDD is IOMEGA external HDD.

So, do you already have a solution for the problem......

Thanks.

Author:  Igor [ Thu Nov 13, 2008 2:04 pm ]
Post subject: 

brjohnsmith wrote:
Hi,

I have the same problem. I have two freecom external HDD and it works fine on Windows XP (both), but when I use Vista, freecom with 500GB is still workfing fine, but freecom 120GB doesn work, and I get the same message. I am using administrator accound and I dont want to disable UAC resource. It is the same when the HDD is IOMEGA external HDD.

So, do you already have a solution for the problem......

Thanks.

Hi, we have only development version where this issue is fixed. You may try it now: http://safelyremove.com/upload/usbsafel ... -beta8.exe

Please let us know about your experience.

Author:  brjohnsmith [ Thu Nov 13, 2008 8:34 pm ]
Post subject: 

Hi Igor,

I am not sure if the final version (beta 8 ) is 4.0.7.728. If it is, I am afraid to say, but it didnt work. the message is the same.

Thanks.

Author:  Igor [ Fri Nov 14, 2008 6:48 am ]
Post subject: 

brjohnsmith wrote:
Hi Igor,

I am not sure if the final version (beta 8 ) is 4.0.7.728. If it is, I am afraid to say, but it didnt work. the message is the same.

Thanks.

Hi Brjohnsmith,
1. Could you specify what message did you get?
2. Could you send us a bug-report (Menu -> Help -> Report a bug), in this case the program will send us technical information about your system and a debug log?
3. Could you send us one additional file: C:\USBSRServiceLog.txt to support@safelyremove.com?

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/