SafelyRemove.com Forum
http://safelyremove.com/forum/

"Autorun" on VISTA Ultimate (32-bit) SP2
http://safelyremove.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=398
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Pacificoastent [ Mon Jun 07, 2010 7:30 pm ]
Post subject:  "Autorun" on VISTA Ultimate (32-bit) SP2

I found an article about Disabling AUTORUN upon inserting USB drives. TechNetArchive 23 SEP 2007 1:29 am from Steve Riley - "Autorun: Good For You?" Apparently many viruses are easily spread this way!

1) Does SafelyRemove override AUTORUN when inserting any USB device (Memory Drive/PMP/etc)?

2) If not, will holding Shift Key down before inserting USB device disable AUTORUN before SafelyRemove launches device?

Thank you.

Author:  Igor [ Fri Jul 16, 2010 4:38 am ]
Post subject:  Re: "Autorun" on VISTA Ultimate (32-bit) SP2

Hello,
I'm sorry for so long response on your question.

Pacificoastent wrote:
I found an article about Disabling AUTORUN upon inserting USB drives. TechNetArchive 23 SEP 2007 1:29 am from Steve Riley - "Autorun: Good For You?" Apparently many viruses are easily spread this way!

1) Does SafelyRemove override AUTORUN when inserting any USB device (Memory Drive/PMP/etc)?

No, USB Safely Remove currently do nothing with the native Windows autorun. If it's enabled on your computer it will work as expected.

Pacificoastent wrote:
2) If not, will holding Shift Key down before inserting USB device disable AUTORUN before SafelyRemove launches device?

Sure. But USB Safely Remove has its own autorun feature where this behavior isn't implemented. USB Safely Remove's autorun is virus-safe because the program stores all the settings in the registry therefore the virus cannot be transferred from one computer to another with USB Safely Remove's autorun.

Author:  Igor [ Mon Dec 15, 2014 1:44 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: "Autorun" on VISTA Ultimate (32-bit) SP2

zohaa wrote:
Yes, I tried that just now, but the situation remains the same. It appears that the drive got un-formatted somehow after I unplugged it. I tried to re-format it, but I keep getting the error message "the format did not complete successfully".

Hi Zoha,
You are elevating 4-year old thread, so can you describe what your problem is more detailed, please? What did you do in the program and what happened?

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/