[WISH] Compability with Truecrypt - a new parameter in start/stop scripts

pzYsTorM
Posts: 9
Joined: Oct 17th, 2008, 6:55 pm

Post by pzYsTorM » Jun 9th, 2009, 9:37 am

Oh, thats weird!

Yes, UAC is enabled.
Perhaps, the ATI tool for the dual screen manages some window positions... but I dont know.
I will check this on my laptop. Thats a single screen with a brand new Vista installation.
User avatar
Igor
Developer
Posts: 563
Joined: Nov 1st, 2007, 12:44 pm
Location: Saint Petersburg
Contact:

Post by Igor » Jun 16th, 2009, 11:59 am

pzYsTorM wrote:Oh, thats weird!

Yes, UAC is enabled.
Perhaps, the ATI tool for the dual screen manages some window positions... but I dont know.
I will check this on my laptop. Thats a single screen with a brand new Vista installation.
It seems that your problem (non-active TrueCrypt window) relates to UAC, try disabling it for some time and see if TrueCrypt window will be activated or not. If you find that this is a problem of UAC we cannot do anything in this case.
pzYsTorM
Posts: 9
Joined: Oct 17th, 2008, 6:55 pm

Post by pzYsTorM » Jul 6th, 2009, 8:30 am

First I thought this is caused by ATI software and dual screens (which I have at home).
But on my notebook I have nVidia and a single screen.

On both systems is Vista (SP2 in the meantime) and each time connecting my usb stick the TC password prompt is behind Firefox, etc.

Ok, I will check if its a UAC problem.
User avatar
Igor
Developer
Posts: 563
Joined: Nov 1st, 2007, 12:44 pm
Location: Saint Petersburg
Contact:

Re:

Post by Igor » Nov 24th, 2009, 2:58 pm

pzYsTorM wrote: The TrueCrypt window asking for the password for mounting the volume is always in the background... behind all other windows.

Would it be possible to switch it to the foreground and put the focus on it?
At the moment I have to minimize all windows, because there is no other chance to get to this TrueCrypt window, because it has no task bar entry.
Just for information of anyone who encountered the same problem.

I've just accidentally found out the reason of this behavior. It's a bug of the older versions of TrueCrypt. I've got the same behavior with the version 6.0, but TrueCrypt 6.3a works flawlessly and displays the password window always on top. So the decision is to upgrade your TrueCrypt installation.
User avatar
oblivion
Posts: 3
Joined: Nov 30th, 2009, 2:04 pm

Re: [WISH] Compability with Truecrypt - a new parameter in start

Post by oblivion » Nov 30th, 2009, 2:13 pm

I also use Truecrypt to mount an encrypted partition: however, the encrypted partition is also (separately to the partition that the Truecrypt executable's stored on) on the flashdrive that I'm plugging in. The actual command I need to use is

"G:\TrueCrypt.exe" /v "\Device\Harddisk1\Partition2" /l I /q background

What I'm having difficulty working out is how much of that I can replace with USBSR variables. Just the drive letter? Or can I parameterise the hard disk number somehow, so I can ensure it still works when it's not the first drive plugged in?

Thanks!
User avatar
Igor
Developer
Posts: 563
Joined: Nov 1st, 2007, 12:44 pm
Location: Saint Petersburg
Contact:

Re: [WISH] Compability with Truecrypt - a new parameter in start

Post by Igor » Nov 30th, 2009, 8:51 pm

oblivion wrote:I also use Truecrypt to mount an encrypted partition: however, the encrypted partition is also (separately to the partition that the Truecrypt executable's stored on) on the flashdrive that I'm plugging in. The actual command I need to use is

"G:\TrueCrypt.exe" /v "\Device\Harddisk1\Partition2" /l I /q background

What I'm having difficulty working out is how much of that I can replace with USBSR variables. Just the drive letter? Or can I parameterise the hard disk number somehow, so I can ensure it still works when it's not the first drive plugged in?

Thanks!
There is variable %PhysicalDriveName% which replaces something that you call "hard disk number". The drive letter in your command cannot be replaced as it is not the same as the letter of the flash drive. You have to specify it manually what drive letter you wish to mount your TrueCrypt volume to.

Your comand line that you add to autorun should be looking like that:
"G:\TrueCrypt.exe" /v "%PhysicalDriveName%" /l I /q background

However I'd recommend you using integrated into USBSafelyRemove TrueCrypt command line template wizard. It's much more easier to add command line templates for mounting\dismounting TrueCrypt volumes with it.

Image

Image
pzYsTorM
Posts: 9
Joined: Oct 17th, 2008, 6:55 pm

Re: Re:

Post by pzYsTorM » Feb 26th, 2010, 2:24 pm

Igor wrote:Just for information of anyone who encountered the same problem.

I've just accidentally found out the reason of this behavior. It's a bug of the older versions of TrueCrypt. I've got the same behavior with the version 6.0, but TrueCrypt 6.3a works flawlessly and displays the password window always on top. So the decision is to upgrade your TrueCrypt installation.
Sorry, but that did not solve the problem.
Using the latest SafelyRemove and the lastest TrueCrypt version, the password dialog is still behind all active windows. I only have Vista (with all available updates using Windows Update) at the moment, but on three computers I have this behaviour. And this is definitely no dual screen issue - I have made several tests.

My next tests are: Win XP? Windows 7? Disable the UAC?
Post Reply