It is currently Fri Nov 24, 2017 4:30 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: "Autorun" on VISTA Ultimate (32-bit) SP2
PostPosted: Mon Jun 07, 2010 7:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 7:13 pm
Posts: 1
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
I found an article about Disabling AUTORUN upon inserting USB drives. TechNetArchive 23 SEP 2007 1:29 am from Steve Riley - "Autorun: Good For You?" Apparently many viruses are easily spread this way!

1) Does SafelyRemove override AUTORUN when inserting any USB device (Memory Drive/PMP/etc)?

2) If not, will holding Shift Key down before inserting USB device disable AUTORUN before SafelyRemove launches device?

Thank you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: "Autorun" on VISTA Ultimate (32-bit) SP2
PostPosted: Fri Jul 16, 2010 4:38 am 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 12:44 pm
Posts: 554
Location: Saint Petersburg
Hello,
I'm sorry for so long response on your question.

Pacificoastent wrote:
I found an article about Disabling AUTORUN upon inserting USB drives. TechNetArchive 23 SEP 2007 1:29 am from Steve Riley - "Autorun: Good For You?" Apparently many viruses are easily spread this way!

1) Does SafelyRemove override AUTORUN when inserting any USB device (Memory Drive/PMP/etc)?

No, USB Safely Remove currently do nothing with the native Windows autorun. If it's enabled on your computer it will work as expected.

Pacificoastent wrote:
2) If not, will holding Shift Key down before inserting USB device disable AUTORUN before SafelyRemove launches device?

Sure. But USB Safely Remove has its own autorun feature where this behavior isn't implemented. USB Safely Remove's autorun is virus-safe because the program stores all the settings in the registry therefore the virus cannot be transferred from one computer to another with USB Safely Remove's autorun.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: "Autorun" on VISTA Ultimate (32-bit) SP2
PostPosted: Mon Dec 15, 2014 1:44 pm 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 12:44 pm
Posts: 554
Location: Saint Petersburg
zohaa wrote:
Yes, I tried that just now, but the situation remains the same. It appears that the drive got un-formatted somehow after I unplugged it. I tried to re-format it, but I keep getting the error message "the format did not complete successfully".

Hi Zoha,
You are elevating 4-year old thread, so can you describe what your problem is more detailed, please? What did you do in the program and what happened?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Crystal Rich Ltd © 2014 Powered by phpBB ©